Anahata (Heart) Chakra

 In 4th Chakra, Anahata Chakra, Chakras, Heart Chakra

(Camel is a great pose for those working on opening and balancing the Anahata Chakra – Heart Chakra)

Anahata Chakra by Anita Choudhary

The fourth chakra is the Anahata Chakra and is commonly known as the heart chakra. It is the

midpoint of all the chakras and is known as the connecting chakra, too, since it connects the

higher chakras with the lower chakras. It is the place where the spiritual aspect and the

physical body meet. It is situated at the heart level and is at the central point of the


Anahata chakra influences the circulatory system including the heart, the lungs with its

bronchial tubes, the diaphragm, the upper part of back, the thymus gland and the immune

system, shoulders and arms.

Associated colors and emotions

The main colors of Anaharta chakra are the pink and green colors that are visually

represented by smoky green colored circle enclosed in 12 lotus petals of red color where

each petal has been given a Sanskrit name.

The Anahata chakra is related to your relationships, compassion, forgiveness, devotion and love

for self and others. If you have balanced chakra, you develop a strong immune system and are

capable of much compassion, love, empathy and life balance. Your aura oozes peacefulness

and tranquility.

Imbalances of the Heart Chakra

Imbalance in the heart chakra may show up in the form of excessive energy which makes you

overly jealous, sacrificing, demanding and possessive. You may have poorly developed boundaries

with issues stemming from co-dependency if your anahata chakra is out of balance.

Additionally, if the fourth chakra is completely blocked then you become introverted, withdrawn,

anti- social, intolerant, shy, lonely, bitter and cold and may even develop fears of

intimacy and relationships. You start lacking empathy and may feel depressed.

On the physical plane, a blocked heart chakra can cause diseases in the lungs and the heart,

breasts, thymus gland and the arms. You may feel heaviness in the shoulders in the form of

tension. You may develop immune deficiencies and illnesses like allergies and

asthma and there may suffer from poor circulation. You need to open and balance the energies

using proven yogic asanas and meditation.

Yogic asanas for balancing the heart chakra

Hence, it is very important that the Anahata chakra is always balanced and the yoga asanas

that help the seeker to balance this chakra are:

 Bhujangasana or the cobra pose helps in improving the posture and strengthening

the spine. This pose also helps in directing the prana towards the heart chakra.

 Ushtrasana or the camel pose is a powerful asana that helps in opening up the

chest area and thus helps you to be more open to giving and accepting love. This

asana also stretches the whole front part of the body including the abdomen, the

chest and the throat along with the muscles of your back, helping to stimulate the

abdominal organs.

 Setu Bandhasana or bridge pose opens the chest and shoulders and helps

unblock the heart chakra.

Learn more about our Chakra Courses.


Recommended Posts

Start typing and press Enter to search